[Hrgeeks] Question on a .htaccess file

WallyBert WallyBert at covad.net
Sun Mar 14 12:17:47 EDT 2010


not an x-spurt, but,  from your description it looks as though you are
trying to be invisible to that site?  Think you need to block that port
for that ip addy.

The scanners are looking for a rejected access to your machine's
ip:port, vice being rejected by the server app.

hth
wb++




On 2010.03.14 12:05, Anthony Gartner wrote:
> i am trying to block a specific ip from even seing my site.  was
> surfing around and found that the .htaccess might be the simplest way
>
> my exiting file looks like 
>
> # BEGIN WordPress
> <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
> RewriteEngine On
> RewriteBase /
> RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
> RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
> RewriteRule . /index.php [L]
> </IfModule>
>
> # END WordPress
>
> can i just make it
> # BEGIN WordPress
> <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
> RewriteEngine On
> RewriteBase /
> RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
> RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
> RewriteRule . /index.php [L]
> </IfModule>
> deny 213.5.71.12        <---- the change made 
>
> # END WordPress
>
> Will that work to block access
>
> Thank you in advance
>
>
> Anthony Gartner
>
> *SecuraBit Podcast*
> /*SecuraBit before it Bytes!!!*/
> Co-Host on SecuraBit Podcast
> http://securabit.com
> anthonygartner at gmail.com <mailto:anthonygartner at gmail.com>
> Skype: cnsinc
> Security blog - http://grassrootssecurity.com
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
> --
> _______________________________________________
> HRGeeks mailing list
> HRGeeks at hrgeeks.com
> http://hrgeeks.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/hrgeeks
> You are all sheep.



More information about the HRGeeks mailing list